Night Owl’s 100th Post

Standard

owl

If I were an owl, I would haunt you in your dreams.

You waken in the Dreamtime to find me

staring at you with outstretched wings

saying nothing.

You know that this is the moment you have been waiting for

the moment I need your attention.

A deep guttural sound will start

to rise within your chest

as you wrench your inner owl into existence.

It’s not easy to release

your true self buried beneath

the façade of your cultural armour.

The cry of your rebirth

reaches your throat,

hideous in its rasping rawness.

Too long have you denied your ability to sing

out to the night.

I will haunt you until you do.

orb

(c) Cheyenne MacMasters 2013
“orbphotog”

About orbphotog

Born in the West, I studied photography and painting at the School of Visual Arts in New York City before being drawn back home to the open skies of western living. My camera is always close at hand to capture changing light and to record what catches my eye. However, it is my recent discovery of being able to see orbs through the medium of digital photography that has sparked my passion for photographing the night. All photographs in this blog are copyrighted by me. Occasional photos by guests are copyrighted by the photographer. Please contact if you would like to order prints.

20 responses »

    • Thank you, Uzoma. I celebrated by owling the night away, not sleeping ’til dawn. For me, writing poetry is all about trust. Trusting the words that come to mind and not arguing with yourself in the process.

      Like

Leave a Reply

